A | A | A
Norway’s official websites abroad
Photo: regjeringen.no.Photo: regjeringen.no

Norway joins EU in sanctions against Belarus

Last updated: 26.11.2013 // The 29th of October Norway again joined EUs sanctions against Belarus.

Brussels, 1 November 2012

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP concerning restrictive measures against Belarus

On 15 October 2012, the Council adopted Decision 2012/642/CFSP [1].

Noting that the situation as regards democracy, human rights and rule of law in Belarus has not improved, and on the basis of an annual review, Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP extends the restrictive measures against Belarus until 31 October 2013.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+ and Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this declaration.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] OJ L 285/1, 17.10.2012, p. 17.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia
continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic


Source: regjeringen.no